Based on the research interests of our members, we are initiating 19 IGs led by experts and active researchers in each area. Detailed info about the IG charters, focus areas of each IG, and their activities will be announced at this site and through the reflector soon. The 19 IGs are:



(QSCSIG) Qualitative and Semantic Communications
Chair: Lijun Dong, Futurewei Technologies, USA
Co-Chair: Roberto Rojas-Cessa, New Jersey Institute of Technology, USA
Advisor: Walid Saad, Virginia Tech, USA
Advisor: Jinho Choi, Deakin University, Australia
Advisor: Martin Reisslein, Arizona State University, USA
Advisor: Kaibin Huang, Hongkong University, China
Advisor: Mehdi Bennis, University of Oulu, Finland
Advisor: Richard Li, Futurewei Technologies Inc.

(METASIG) Metaverse
Chair: Ruidong Li, Kanazawa University, Japan
Subarea-Chair: Simon See, NVIDIA, Singapore
Subarea-Chair: Zheng Yan, Aalto University, Finland
Subarea-Chair: Danda B. Rawat, Howard University, USA
Subarea-Chair: Tarik Taleb, The University of Oulu, Finland
Subarea-Chair: Pietro Manzoni, Universitat Politècnica de València, Spain
Subarea-Chair: Enzo Mingozzi, University of Pisa, Italy
Advisor: Chonggang Wang, Interdigital, USA
Advisor: Tarek Abdelzaher, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign USA
Advisor: Baochun Li, University of Toronto, Canada
Advisor: Mahmoud Daneshmand, Stevens Institute of Technology, USA
Advisor: Jiannong Cao, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hongkong
Co-chairs: Aljoscha Smolic
Co-chairs: Aljoscha Smolic
Advisor: Dusit Niyato, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Advisor: Moshen Guizani, Mohamed Bin Zayed University of Artificial Intelligence (MBZUAI), UAE

(QoEIG) QoE for Multimedia Communications
Chair: Hantao Liu, Cardiff University, UK
Co-chairs: Martin Varela, VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland, Finland
Lea Skorin-Kapov, University of Zagreb, Croatia
Advisor: Alan Bovik, The University of Texas at Austin

(VAIG) Visual Analysis and Content Management for Communications
Chair: Rongrong Ji, Columbia University, USA
Co-chairs: Chenwei Deng, Beijing Institute of Technology, China
Advisor: Jiebo Luo, Rochester University

(MPCIG) Media Processing for Communications
Chair: Sanjeev Mehrotra, Microsoft, USA
Co-chairs: Ce Zhu, University of Electronic Science and Technology of China, China
Carl J. Debono, University of Malta, Malta

(MSIG) Media Streaming
Chair: Di Wu, Sun Yat-Sen University, China
Co-chairs: Alexander Raake, T-Labs, TU Berlin
Advisor: Keith W. Ross, New York University
Oliver Dapeng Wu, University of Floria, USA

(SMPCIG) Security in Media Processing and Communications
Chair: Jun Dai, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA
Co-chairs: Rose Hu, Utah State University, USA
Anthony Ho, University of Surrey, UK
Advisor: Deepa Kundur, University of Toronto, Canada

(3DIG) 3D Rendering, Processing and Communications (3DRPC IG website)
Chair: Tasos Dagiuklas, Hellenic Open University, Greece
Co-chairs: Aljoscha Smolic, Disney Research Zurich, Switzerland
Wanqing Li, University of Wollongong, Australia
Advisor: A. Murat Tekalp, Koc University, Turkey

(MNIG) Multimedia Networking
Chair: Ping Wang, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Co-chairs: Xinlin Huang, Tong Ji University, China
Zhenzhong Chen, Wuhan University, China

(GMCIG) Green Multimedia Communications
Chair: Zuqing Zhu, USTC, China
Co-chairs: Changqiao Xu, BUPT, China
Co-chairs: Jun Wu, Tongji University, China
Advisor: Moshe Zukerman, City University of Hong Kong

(DSNIG) Distributed and Sensor Networks for Mobile Media Computing and Applications
Chair: Tay Wee Peng, NTU, Singapore
Co-chairs: Pedro Amado Assuncao, Intitute of Telecom, Portugal
Advisor: Dapeng WU, University of Florida

(MENIG) Multimedia Services and Applications over Emerging Networks
Chair: Zhou Su, Waseda University, Japan
Co-chairs: Suhua Tang, The University of Electro-Communications, Japan
Artur Lugmayr, Curtin University, Australia
Advisor: Hsiao-Hwa Chen, National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan

(MCDIG) Multimedia Content Distribution: Infrastructure and Algorithms
Chair: Xiaoqing Zhu, Cisco Systems, USA
Co-chairs: Harilaos Koumaras, National Centre of Scientific Research “Demokritos”, Greece
David Hausheer, Technische Universität Darmstadt, Darmstadt
Advisor: Prof. Chang Wen Chen, University at Buffalo, The State University of New York

(MBDIG) Multimedia Big Data
Chair: Xiaokang Yang, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
Co-chairs: Zhengjun Zha, NUS, Singapore
Burak Kantarci, Clarkson University, USA
Advisor: Jenq-neng Hwang,University of Washington, USA

(MCCIG) Multimedia Cloud Computing
Chair: Kuan-Ta Chen, Academia Sinica, Taiwan
Co-chairs: Ali C. Begen, Networked Media and Ozyegin University, Turkey
Chin-Feng Lai, National Chung Cheng University, Taiwan
Advisor: Baochun Li, University of Toronto

(MCSIG) Multimedia Communication Systems
Chair: Yung-Hsiang Lu, Purdue University, USA
Co-chairs: Katarzyna Wac, University of Geneva, Switzerland
Pablo Cesar, Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica, Netherlands
Advisor: Mihaela van der Schaar, UCLA

(DRMIG) AI in Multimedia Communications and Applications
Chair: Liang Zhou, Nanjing University of Posts and Telecommunications, China
Co-chairs: Dapeng Wu, Chongqing University of Posts and Telecommunications, China
Han Hu, Beijing Institute of Technology, China
Advisor: Hongkai Xiong, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China

(IVCTIG) Intelligent Video Coding and Transmission
Chair: Bin Tan, Jinggangshan University, China
Co-chairs: Jun Liu, Nanjing University of Posts and Telecommunications, China
Advisor: Shiwen Mao,Auburn University,USA

(DRMIG) Digital Rights Management for Multimedia
Chair: Zhiyong Zhang, SMIEEE, Henan University of Science and Technology, P. R. of China
Co-chairs: Kim-Kwang Raymond Choo, SMIEEE, University of Texas at San Antonio, USA
Brij B. Gupta, SMIEEE, National Institute of Technology, Kurukshetra, India
Xiaolin Huang, Tencent Corporation, P. R. of China
Kefeng Fan, China Electronics Standardization Institute, P. R. of China
Advisors: Ravi Sandhu, FIEEE, University of Texas at San Antonio, USA
Chin-chen Chang, FIEEE, Feng Chia University, Republic of China

IG Membership:

Membership is free. Please contact IG chairs for more information about how to join each IG.